The 2019 Ashes Series is a series of test cricket matches between England and Australia who will be playing for The Ashes beginning August 1, 2019, until September 6, 2019. England is the host this year and the venues will be at Edgbaston, Lord’s, Headingley, Old Trafford, and The Oval. Australia is the current holder of the Ashes, having won the series in 2017-18.

The Ashes are held by the team which won the previous series, Australia in this case. If the teams are tied after the series, the Ashes stay with the last winner. The term Ashes was derived from the British newspaper The Sporting Times, which wrote a satirical obituary after Australia won at the Oval in 1882, the Aussies’ first test win in British soil. The paper wrote that English cricket had died and the “body will be cremated and the ashes sent to Australia”. During the 1882-83 test series, English captain Ivo Bligh vowed to “regain the Ashes” and so the term was born. When England won two of the three Tests on the tour, a small urn was presented to Bligh by a group of Melbourne women. The urn was said to have contained the ashes of a wooden bail. The urn has never been an official trophy in the competition because it was a personal gift to Bligh. However, the winner of the test has traditionally used as a symbol of victory.

An Ashes series is traditionally made up of five tests, hosted alternately by England and Australia every two years. In its history, there have been 70 Ashes. Australia has won 33 and England 32. The teams figured in a draw five other times.

The lineups for both teams aren’t known and finalized yet. But based on what we saw at the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup, we may already have an idea of what they look like. England is pegged as the cricket betting favorites following their win at the World Cup.

“Trophy" England

England’s fearsome batting has been on full display in the last two years and we last saw that at the Cricket World Cup. But there are some concerns from a test perspective especially at the top of the order. Rory Burns and Keaton Jennings did their share in the recent World Cup but with Australia’s bowling, they might bump into trouble in the Ashes. Jason Roy and Dominic Sibley’s names have emerged as possible reserve opener as well. When it comes to the middle order, England looks fine with Joe Root, Ben Stokes, and Jonny Bairstow playing well at the World Cup. Sam Haim and Sam Northeast could get a second look for the middle order. Meanwhile, Jos Buttler and Moeen Ali will most likely complete the lower middle order. But Ali’s place in the side has been questioned because of his inconsistent form at the World Cup and with Adil Rashid and Jack Leash doing the spinning duties. Because of that, Sam Curran may come to the side. Curran meanwhile, will probably have Lewis Gregory as his competition. James Anderson and Stuart Broad are likely going to lead the bowling department. Stokes and Mark Wood could be possibilities as well. Jofra Archer, Jamie Porter, and Olly Stone may be considered as well.

What are the Moneyline Odds?







Odds from as of 7/16/19

“Trophy" Australia

This series should see the return to red-ball cricket of David Warner at the top of the order and of Steve Smith to number 4. Warner’s partner opening partner could be a choice between Joe Burns or Marcus Harris. Usman Khawaja is tipped to be #3 if his injury permits. Shaun Marsh has owned #5 but a hand fracture also forced him out of the World Cup. These injuries have given opportunities for the likes of  Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, and Marnus Labuschagne. Tim Paine will have the likes of Matthew Wade and Alex Carey competing for that reserve keeper role. Paine will be looking to re-run the 2017-18 series with Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins and Josh Hazlewood most likely leading the pace department. It will be Nathan Lyon doing the spinning duties but he needs the help of either Maxwell or Labuschagne in that area. James Pattinson could also be added to the XI as well as Ashton Agar and his batting prowess.

“Trophy" Who Wins?

We have seen some of the all-time greats battle it out in the Ashes since it was first held in 1882-83. Australia has won 33 series while England is one back at 32. Five out of the 70 series have ended in a tie. Australia has dominated this big event for most of the ’90s but has not won a series in English soil since 2005. Since then, the series has been dominated by the hosts except in 2010-11 when England claimed its first win in Australia.

England has not lost a test series at home since falling to Sri Lanka 0-1 in 2014. The only other time they lost a test series at home in this decade was in 2012 against South Africa. England has played great cricket during this period and they have one of the strongest batting line-ups in the world. These squads met twice at the recent 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup and while Australia won by 64 runs at Lord’s during their first encounter, England defeated the Aussies by 8 wickets when it mattered most, in the semifinals, en route to winning their first-ever Cricket World Cup. The home team has been successful in recent years and coming off a World Cup title, they should carry enough momentum to emerge victorious again. This is England’s year so far and it stays that way at the Ashes. Prediction: England

Place Your Bet Here

Related Articles
Leave Your Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *