The 2019 Royal London One-Day Cup is a limited overs cricket tournament which is part of the 2019 Domestic Cricket season in Wales and England. Because England is hosting the 2019 Cricket World Cup, the 2019 Royal London One-Day Cup is set to take place at the start of the 2019 cricket season on April 17, 2019 with the final match happening on May 25, 2019 at Lords.

The tournament is participated by the first class counties of Wales and England. The tournament begins with two groups of nine teams who play via round-robin format. Teams are geographically divided with a North and a South Group. The top three teams from each group will then move on to the knockout round. Check out our cricket betting tips.

The number of overs per inning has been increased to 50 to conform with the One Day International. The Royal London One-Day Cup started in 2014 as a replacement for the ECB Tournament which ran from 2010-2013. Here are the list of winners since the start of the Royal London One-Day Cup:

  • 2014 Durham
  • 2015 Gloucestershire
  • 2016 Warwickshire Bears
  • 2017 Nottinghamshire Outlaws
  • 2018 Hampshire

Last year, Hampshire defeated the Kent Spitfires by 61 runs in the final that took place at Lord’s on June 30, 2018. Hampshire topped the Yorkshire Vikings in the semifinals while the Kent Spitfire won over the Worcestershire Rapids in the other semi-final bracket.

This year, 18 teams played round-robin from April 17th to May 7th and the quarterfinals were held on May 10, 2019. Last May 12th, Somerset defeated Nottingham by 115 runs at 337-222 in the first semifinals match and then Hampshire topped Lancashire by four wickets at 245-6 to 241 in the second semifinals game to set up the 2019 Royal London One-Day Cup to set up the Final to be held at the Lord’s Cricket Ground at St. John’s Wood.

Defending champions Hampshire are the betting favorites at 1.80 to repeat as champions while Somerset came back at 2.00 according to William Hill as of 5/21/19.

“Cricket" Who Wins?

Liam Dawson has been named to England’s ICC Cricket World Cup team after his strong showing in the Royal London One-Day Cup. Dawson has been impressive with both the bat and the ball as he has picked up 17 wickets at just 18.64 a piece while also producing 246 runs at an average of almost 50. Kyle Abbott is one of the top wicket takers in the country and in the Royal London One-Day Cup, he’s taken 20 wickets at an average of just 18.9 in just 8 games. Last May 5th, Abbott’s three-wicket haul helped dismiss Somerset 221/3 to 216.

Gareth Berg and Rilee Rossouw, who were instrumental in Hampshire’s win over Kent in last year’s Final, were key in the semifinals as Berg took a career-best 5-26 as the visitors bowled out for 241 and Rossouw scored 85. Berg was backed up by spinners Mason Crane ( 3-42) and Dawson (1-49).

Somerset reached the Royal London One-Day Cup Final the hard way. They finished third in the South Group after coming out victorious during a must-win tie against Surrey at Taunton. After that, they disposed of Worcestershire in the playoffs by 147 runs and then in the semifinals, they beat Nottinghamshire by 115 points to ensure an all-South Final at Lords.

Nottinghamshire was set 338 to win and went to 110-1 mainly because of Ben Slate (58) and Alex Hales (54) but then sputtered to be rolled in 38.2 overs, with Somerset spinner  Roelof van der Merwe taking 3-29. Somerset began to fade in their middle innings, sliding from 183-1 to 289-1after Jake Bell laid claim to four wickets. The Overton twins then placed Somerset over 300 with Jamie striking 18 from 20 balls and Craig 20.

Hampshire won their first Royal London One-Day Cup last year behind the performances of batsmen Tom Alsop, Sam Northeast, Rilee Rossouw and James Vince. With Hampshire playing really well in the current tournament, they should have no problems defending their title against a game opponent in Somerset. Prediction: Hampshire.

Place Your Play Bet Here

Related Articles
Leave Your Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *