The INF Netball World Cup is a quadrennial international netball tournament organized by the International Netball Federation. The first Netball World Cup was held in 1963 and hosted by England. Since then a total of 14 Netball World Cup events have taken place.

The 2019 INF Netball World Cup is the 15th edition of the once-every-four-years tournament. It will be held from July 12-21, 2019 at the M&S Bank Arena in Liverpool, England.

A total of 16 teams will compete in the 2019 INF Netball World Cup. Five teams automatically qualified by virtue of their INF rankings while England, as the host was an automatic participant. The remaining 10 squads qualified via regional tournaments with two teams chosen from each of the five international netball regions- Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe, and Oceania.

After a draw, the teams were divided into four groups with four teams per group. After the preliminary stage, the top three teams from the groups will move on to the second preliminary stage. The Top 3 teams from Groups A and B will form Group F while the Top 3 teams from Groups C and D will form Group G. After the second round of action, the Top two teams from Group F and G will move on to the semifinals with the #1 teams facing the #2 team from the other group. The semifinals winners then dispute the 2019 INF Netball World Cup title on July 21st.

Here are the groupings for the 2019 INF Netball World Cup:

Group A Group B Group C Group D
Australia New Zealand Jamaica England
Northern Ireland Malawi South Africa Uganda
Zimbabwe Barbados Trinidad & Tobago Scotland
Sri Lanka Singapore Fiji Samoa

In 2015, Australia defeated New Zealand in the final 58-55 to win their 11th overall World Cup and third consecutive. England won third place with a 66-44 victory over Jamaica in the Bronze medal match.

This year, the Diamonds of Australia are once again favored to win the 2019 Netball World Cup. Here are the favorites to win the 2019 Netball World Cup. Odds were taken from as of 7/15/19:

Team Odds
Australia 2.1
England 2.88
Jamaica 6
New Zealand 10
South Africa 26
Malawi 101
Uganda 201
Northern Ireland 501
Scotland 501
Barbados 1001
Fiji 1001
Samoa 1001
Singapore 1001
Sri Lanka 1001
Trinidad & Tobago 1001
Zimbabwe 1001

“Trophy" What Are The Updates?

Australia is the betting favorite to win the 2019 Netball World Cup. The 11-time defending world champions lost to England in the Quad Series at the Commonwealth Games earlier this year but despite that, the oddsmakers are still high on the Aussies and so far, they have lived up to their billing.

Australia topped Group A with an unbeaten record of 3-0 and a total of 6 points earned. Their 260 goals scored is the most by any team in the Stage One of competition. Likewise, the Aussies allowed just 85 goals, the fewest allowed by any team in the competition. Their GF/GA percentage of 305.9% is also the highest so far in the tournament. Australia now moves forward to Stage 2 as part of Group F.

England defeated Australia in the Commonwealth Games earlier this year and headed to this tournament with momentum. The English were the winners of Group D in Stage One as, like Australia,  they also swept their first three matches. England’s 224 goals scored ranked third behind Australia and New Zealand. Meanwhile, they only allowed a total of 90 goals during Stage One, second fewest in the round and just five shy of Australia’s pace-setting 85 goals allowed

Jamaica’s Sunshine Girls are looking to improve their 4th place finish in the last two INF Netball World Cup contests. They finished second in Group C behind unbeaten South Africa. Jamaica had easy wins over Fiji and Trinidad & Tobago. However, they lost a close 52-55 contest to South Africa last July 14th to advance to Stage 2 as part of Group C.

New Zealand won silver in 2015 and the four-time champions are hoping to win it all this year. They topped Group B with an undefeated 3-0 record and scored a total of 231 goals in Stage One, the second most in the competition so far. Their 91 goals allowed ranks next to Australia and England in the rankings.

“Trophy" Who Wins?

This is a tournament that has been dominated by Australia. They have won 11 out of the 14 Netball World Cups that have been staged so far, including six out of the last seven and the last three. Caitlin Thwaites has been impressive so far for the Diamonds as she leads the team with 92 goals. The other Caitlin, the most experienced player in the team with over 90 caps since 2008, is also having a fantastic start to the tournament with 82 goals.

Australia’s GA/GF percentage of 305.9% is head over heels better than their competition. The Diamonds have scored more goal than any team in the tournament and have allowed fewer goals than any other rival so far. The fact that they have dominated this tournament for a long time and continued to do so in Stage One, I think it’s a safe bet to pick Australia. Prediction: Australia

Place Your Bet Here

Related Articles
Leave Your Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *