The World Flat Jockey Championship refers to the competition among jockeys in Britain. It is awarded to the jockey who has ridden the most winning horses during the British flat racing season.

For the majority of its existence, the World Flat Jockey Championship was decided by the number of winners during the traditional flat turf season or ridden between Lincoln Handicap Day and November Handicap Day. However, since 2015, the competition has been shortened from Guineas Meeting and the British Champions Day or approximately 24 weeks of competition instead of 32.

Gordon Richards holds the record for most Flat Jockey Championships won with 26. Meanwhile, Nat Flatman and Fred Archer during the 1800s won 13 straight championships each. Richards also holds the record for most wins in a season with 269 in 1947.

Last year, Brazilian jockey Silvestre De Sousa won his third Flat Jockey championships with 148 wins, seven fewer than the 155 he accumulated to win the 2017 title. Sousa has won in three out of the last four years and will be looking to be the first jockey to win three straight championships from 2012-2014. Sousa is currently third in the 2019 standings, 25 wins behind leader Daniel Tudhope.

Here are the latest standings for the 2019 World Flat Jockey Championships. This was taken from the website of the Professional Jockeys Association website as of 7/29/19:

Jockey Min Weight Wins Rides Strike Rate Level Stake Win Prize Total Prize
Daniel Tudhope 8-9 82 349 23% +19.39 £1,105,100 1,603,821
Oisin Murphy 8-7 80 456 18% 72.45 £897,621 1,599,750
Silvestre De Sousa 8-1 57 327 17% 60.57 £948,801 1,569,710
P J McDonald 8-5 50 318 16% +18.81 £519,072 888,916
Ben Curtis 8-4 44 302 15% 2.01 £303,560 532,015
James Doyle 8-9 42 201 21% 38.51 £1,154,805 1,922,882
David Allan 8-8 42 273 15% +3.75 £352,415 502,180
Tom Marquand 8-7 42 301 14% +100.71 £378,527 634,129
Jim Crowley 8-7 40 213 19% 20.15 £677,313 1,105,721
Franny Norton 8-0 40 242 17% 59.38 £432,877 653,396
Harry Bentley 8-4 37 248 15% 33.79 £429,839 688,808
Jason Watson 8-5 36 284 13% 25.68 £352,604 512,147
Joe Fanning 8-1 33 175 19% +17.23 £355,906 519,740
Andrea Atzeni 8-5 33 183 18% +54.63 £970,938 1,275,806
Adam Kirby 9-0 32 204 16% 63.86 £244,203 537,585

Daniel Tudhope leads the current standings with 82 wins. By virtue of that, Tudhope is also the current horse racing betting favorite to win the championship. Oisin Murphy is two wins behind at second spot and Murphy is also 2nd in the odds board behind Tudhope. Current champion Silvestre De Sousa is third behind Tudhope and Murphy in both standings and odds board.

Here are the odds to win the 2019 World Flat Jockey Championships. Odds were taken from as of 7/22/19:

Jockey Odds
Daniel Tudhope -137
Oisin Murphy +110
Silvestre De Sousa +1600
Any Other +3300
James Doyle +3300
Jim Crowley +5000
PJ McDonald +5000
Andrea Atzeni +6600
Jason Watson +6500
Frank Dettori +10000
Jamie Spencer +10000
Joe Fanning +10000

“Trophy" Who Are The Favorites?

Daniel Tudhope is the current leader in the standings and is on top of the latest odds board. The Scottish jockey has a total of 82 wins with a strike rate of 23% this season. Tudhope had a career-best year last season with a total of 92 wins and a strike rate of 17% to finish fifth in the 2018 World Flat Jockey Championships final standings. He enjoyed plum rides on the likes of Soldiers Call who is trained by Archie Murphy and the filly Laurens who is trained by Karl Burke.

Oisin Murphy was the runner up in the 2018 World Flat Jockey Championships, finishing behind winner Silvestre De Sousa. The 23-year old British based Irish jockey accumulated a total of 121 wins last season and won some of Britain’s more prominent races. Among the many fabulous horses, he partnered with last season was the superstar Roaring Lion with whom Murphy won the Coral-Eclipse, the Juddmonte and the QEII on Champions Day among others. With the support of Qatar Racing and Andrew Balding, Murphy is one of the favorites to win the championship this year.

Silvestre De Sousa is the reigning World Flat Jockey champion and a three-time world champion overall, having won in 2015, 2017 and 2018 and joins Frank Dettori and Ryan Moore with the same number of world titles. Sousa was also the recipient of the Lester Award for Flat Jockey of the Year in 2015. The 38-year-old Brazilian was the early favorite to win again this year but a slow start has dropped him to third. However, remember that Sousa had a slow start in 2018 ( although not slow as this one ) but finished strong and won the title convincingly by a margin of 27 wins over Oisin Murphy.

James Doyle is the son of former trainer Jacqueline Doyle. The 31-year-old Briton had a successful 2018 season with a total of 106 wins The retained jockey of Godolphin Racing in the UK enjoyed Grade One success with victories in races like Prince of Wales’s, King George and the Yorkshire Oaks.

Jim Crowley is the most experienced jockey in the top favorites and was the World Flay Jockey champion in2016. Crowley is the retained jockey of Sheikh Hamdan al-Maktoum and he won’t be short of champion horses with the likes of Mother who won the Greenham and the promising juvenile Dash owned by Simon Crisford.

“Trophy" Who Wins?

I like how Daniel Tudhope has built on a successful 2018 season to lead this year’s competition. However, I’m also impressed with how 23-year old Oisin Murphy has risen to the occasion to challenge Tudhope. There are still too many races to call a winner here but with respect to Silvestre De Sousa, I don’t think there will be a three-peat this year. I think this has become a two-man race between Tudhope and Murphy with both having genuine chances to win. That said, I’ll take Murphy’s better betting value and the huge support threw at him by Qatar Racing. Murphy looked like a winner last year, he still does now. Prediction: Oisin Murphy

Place Your Bet Here

Related Articles
Leave Your Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *