MLS is Major League Soccer and it is the top professional soccer league in the United States sanctioned by the United States Soccer Federation. It was first held in 1996 with 10 teams.

Currently, MLS is composed of 21 teams from the United States and 3 teams from Canada. The teams are divided into the Eastern and Western Conference with each conference having 12 teams. The teams play a 34 game regular season and the team with the best record is awarded the Supporters’ Shield. Seven teams from each conference compete in the MLS Cup Playoffs which run from October to November of each year. The MLS Cup, its championship game, is the culminating event of the season.

The Western Conference is one of the two conferences in the MLS. The Los Angeles Galaxy are the winningest team in the West with a total of 8 Western Conference titles won. The current Western Conference champions are the Portland Timbers. Interestingly, neither of those teams lead the West in the 2019 MLS season. Not surprisingly, 2018 rookie team Los Angeles FC is currently on top of the team standings

This is how the current Western Conference picture looks like:

Los Angeles FC 69 points
Seattle Sounders FC 53 points
Minnesota United 53 points
Los Angeles Galaxy 51 points
Real Salt Lake 50 points
Portland Timbers 46 points
FC Dallas 45 points
San Jose Earthquakes 44 points

Based on the team standings, the Los Angeles FC are running away with the Western Conference. The Black and Gold are 16 points clear of their closest pursuers, the Seattle Sounders. As such, they are big soccer betting favorites to win the 2019 MLS Western Conference title.

Here are the odds to win the MLS Western Conference. Odds were taken from as of 9/27/19:

Team Odds
Los Angeles FC -1000
Seattle Sounders +900
Minnesota United FC +900
Los Angeles Galaxy +1100
San Jose Earthquakes +1400
Portland Timbers +2000
FC Dallas +2200
Real Salt Lake +2200
Houston Dynamo +2800
Sporting Kansas City +12500
Colorado Rapids +15000
Vancouver Whitecaps +50000

“Soccer" Who Are The Favorites?

The Los Angeles FC is the second MLS franchise in Los Angeles but isn’t playing second fiddle to anybody right now. The Black and Gold are on top of the league standings right now with 69 points from 20 wins, 9 draws and 4 losses. They lead the league with 81 goals scored and only 35 goals allowed.Carlos Vela is the league’s current top goal scorer with 30 games in 29 matches and he has put his team on top of the MLS table right now.

The Seattle Sounders are among the most successful MLS teams around. Aside from winning the 2016 MLS Cup, the Sounders have won the U.S. Open Cup four times and the Supporters’ Shield in 2014. They have never missed the playoffs in each of their first 10 years in the league and have a total of 5 CONCACAF Champions League appearances. Seattle holds a tie for second place in the West with 53 points and are ranked third in goal difference at +2 goals. Seattle has a record of 15 wins, 10 losses and 8 ties. The Sounders have the third best home record in the West at 10 wins , 2 losses and 4 ties.

The Minnesota United are currently in a tie for 2nd spot with 53 points. They have a record of 15 wins, 10 losses and 8 ties. Minnesota has lost just one game at home this season and their 10-1-6 win-loss-tie record ranks second behind the Los Angeles FC right now in the West. Minnesota’s goal difference of +10 is also second in the West while their 42 goals allowed so far ranks third best in the conference. Their finishing schedule though looks brutal and they might fall in the standings because of that.

The Los Angeles Galaxy is one of Major League Soccer’s most successful teams. They have made it to the MLS Finals nine times while winning five MLS titles. As far as the Western Conference is concerned, the Galaxy have won 8 Western Conference titles. However, the Galaxy are in a drought as they have not won the MLS title since 2014 and they have not topped the Western Conference since 2011. The Galaxy are currently fourth in the 2019 Western Conference standings with a record of 16 wins, 3 draws and 13 losses. They missed the playoffs last season but with Zlatan Ibrahimovic playing his first full season, the Galaxy cannot be underestimated.

The Portland Timbers were the MLS Cup winners in 2015. They finished on top of the Western Conference team standings in 2013 and 2017. They also won the Western Conference playoffs in 2015 and made the playoffs in 2018 where they lost to the Atlanta United FC 0-2 in the 2018 MLS Cup final. Portland is 6th in the current Western Conference standings with 46 points and they have a record of 13 wins, 13 losses and 7 ties. The Timber have scored only 49 goals this season while conceding 48. Portland’s six road wins rank 2nd behind Los Angeles FC.

The San Jose Earthquakes were one of the charter clubs of the MLS. Then known as the San Jose Clash, they played in the first ever game in MLS history where they beat D.C. United 1-0. This club won two MLS Cups in 2001 and 2003. They also have won two Supporters Shield in 2005 and 2012. However, this team also earned the dubious MLS Wooden Spoon in 2018 as the team that ended up in the bottom of the MLS table for that season.  The Earthquakes are 8th in the standings with 44 points earned. They have 13 wins, 15 draws and five ties.

“Soccer" Who Wins?

At this point in the season, Los Angeles FC is the team to beat, not just in the Western Conference but in the entire league as well. The Black and Gold are the hottest team in the league right now and  is comfortably ahead by 16 points in the current Western Conference table and with the way they are playing, it will be tough for their rivals to catch up, really. Los Angeles FC is on the verge of clinching the top spot in the Western Conference and at this point, there may not be a team that can catch up with them in the West. Prediction: Los Angeles FC

Place Your Bet Here

Related Articles
Leave Your Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *