The A-League is the national level football league of Australia and the 2019-20 season will be the 15th since the creation of the A-League in 2004. However, it is the 43rd season of national level football competition in the country.

The season will start on October 11, 2019, and will end with the playoffs on May 1, 2020, and the Grand Final on May 16-17, 2020. There are a total of 11 teams competing this season, including newcomer Western United FC. The league will have a total of 29 rounds with each team playing 26 matches and three byes. The scheduled will be published in August.

Here are the current odds to win the Australian A-League in 2019. These odds were taken from as of 7/22/19:

Team Odds
Perth Glory +325
Sydney FC +350
Melbourne Victory +450
Melbourne City FC +650
Adelaide United +900
Newcastle Jets FC +1200
Western Sydney Wanderers +1200
Wellington Phoenix +1600
Brisbane Roar +1800
Western United FC +2000
Central Coast Mariners +2500

“Soccer" Who Are The Favorites?

The Perth Glory’s dominant season ended in disappointing fashion. After a strong 27 rounds and a big semi-final win, Tony Popovich’s boys were beaten by the most dramatic circumstances in front of a record 56,371 fans at Optus Stadium. The Glory lost via penalty shootout in what was an unceremonious ending to what was a very good year for them. The turnaround from 8th placers in 2018 to Premiers during the last term.

Perth is even going to be more formidable during the upcoming season with the arrival of Bruno Fornaroli who has bagged a total of 48 goals in 70 matches played in Australia. While adding the Uruguayan, Perth has retained the majority of its 2018-19 squad including Diego Castro. With a battle-hardened squad and a new superstar to boot, The Glory is the football betting favorites to win the A-League in 2019-20.

The Sydney FC won the title last season but that didn’t prevent Steve Corica from replacing 12 members of his team. International stars like Jop van der Linden, Siem de Jong, and Reza Ghoochannejhad are gone. Players on loan Anthony Caceres and Danny De Silva have also departed while Alex Brosque has retired. Likewise, midfielder Josh Brillante was also released. There is still plenty of vacancy with the Sky Blues and we still expect several key signings before the start of the season. So watch out for Sydney FC reloaded.

Like Sydney FC, things could look different in 2019-20 for the Melbourne Victory. Kevin Muscat is gone. So is Keisuke Honda. Carl Valeri is also no longer there. And then there are rumors that Kosta Barbarouses may be on the way out as well. But the Victory has retained the services of star striker Ola Toivonen and they have an excellent track record in player succession and stability so they are still expected to figure on top of the table, especially since finishing third last season.

Melbourne City still doesn’t have a coach even though there are rumors that Marco Kurz may be the guy. Most of their stars who played while on loan had their loan deals expire at the end of the season. Jamie Maclaren, Scott Jamieson, and Bart Schenkeveld are three of the league’s most talented players and are an excellent core to build a team around. However, I’m not sure what their final squad will look like. Given that Western United will be making their debut, City may have to act right away to keep up with the other Melbourne squads.

Adelaide United won’t be pushovers next season. The Reds were very close to clinching a grand final berth in 2018-19. New coach Gertjan Verbeek will be in charge of operations and it’s safe to expect a stricter playing style for the Reds given that Verbeek is a disciplinarian. With the coaching change and the loss of club captain Isaias, Adelaide could have a period of adjustment.

“Soccer" Who Wins?

While four out of the Top 5 favorites are undergoing some kind of change, the top betting favorite has kept the core of its 2018-19 Premiers and has even added a superstar in Bruno Fornaroli. By virtue of these, I’m going to pick the Perth Glory to win the 2019-20 Australian A-League title next season.

However, I also like newcomer Western United who made some very big signings. With 2018-19 Goalkeeper of the Year Filip Kurto backing up the midfield trio of Ersan Gulum, Aaron Calver and Connor Chapman, this team is no pushover. The talent doesn’t end there.

This team is led by Greek midfielder Panagiotis Kone. Wellington Phoenix’s breakout star Max Burgess will also be in the midfield together with Ajax academy product Sebastian Pasquali. Valentino Yuel and Connor Pain will provide the pace on the wings. Expect more signings from Western United in the months to come and with the charismatic Mark Rudan as head coach, Western United does possess excellent betting value at +2000. Prediction: I’m picking the Perth Glory to win the 2019-20 A-League but think about adding Western United as your dark horse pick and thank me later.

Place Your Bet Here

Related Articles
Leave Your Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *