Every day we are getting at least one new World Series of Poker bracelet winner and on this occasion it was Gregory Kolo after an impressive performance saw him crowned the champion of the $1,500 Pot Limit Hold’em event. Along with his first bracelet he was also awarded the winners check of $169,225 which will obviously sit very nicely in his bank account.

The event initially brought in 557 players that were happy to part ways with their $1,500 buy-ins but by the start of Day 3 there were just the final table of nine left competing.

Kolo actually started that final table with the chip lead and through good play and sheer determination he was never to let that lead slip. He played well and waited as each of the remaining players fell out of the event until he was heads up against Kazu Oshima.

When that heads up session began many felt that it might take a while for a winner to be revealed but it actually took just six hands. The final hand saw Oshima try and make a bold bluff on the river but Kolo had made two pair and was not folding for anything.

The look on the face of Oshima as he slammed his cards down on the table tells you just how much these players want to win a World Series of Poker bracelet. He was forlorn as he quickly left the table with his hands on his head probably questioning himself over making that bold move.

For Kolo though, he will revel in this victory, especially as it is his first WSOP bracelet win. We feel he has a bright future and will no doubt go on to challenge for more big tournament wins in the future. With some extra money now in his pocket he may even think about starting right now and buying in to a few more events that are coming up.

Well done to Gregory Kolo and good luck for the future.

The Winners

1st Place) Gregory Kolo — $169,225

2nd Place) Kazu Oshima — $104,513

3rd Place) Dean Bui — $74,134

4th Place) David Martirosyan — $53,328

5th Place) Tom McCormick — $38,898

6th Place) Dan Goldman — $28,769

7th Place) Ahmed Amin — $21,565

8th Place) Ryan Schoonbaert — $16,384

9th Place) Phil Collins — $12,610

Related Articles
Leave Your Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *