Known as the World Cup of tennis, the Davis Cup is an annual international team competition in men’s tennis. The tournament is organized by the International Tennis Federation ( ITF ) and contested by nations via knockout format.

The Davis Cup began in 1900 as a friendly tournament between the United States and Great Britain but by 2016, a total of 135 teams representing different nations have joined the competition.

The United States is the most successful country in the history of the Davis Cup. The Americans have won a total of 32 tournaments and have finished as the runners-up in 29 instances. Australia is next with 28 victories and 19 second-place finishes. The defending Davis Cup champion is Croatia, who defeated France to pick up their second Davis Cup win.

This year’s Davis Cup is the 108th installment of the yearly event and it has a modified format. For this edition of the Davis Cup, the main group called the World Group will play in a single tournament held in one location over the period of one week. The 18 World Group teams are divided into six groups of three teams each. The groups play round-robin matches and the top team from each group plus the top two second placers will advance to the quarterfinals. Likewise, the series between teams has been changed from the Best of 5 series to two singles matches and one doubles match. The matches will also be played in Best of 3 sets instead of best of 5 sets. This event is now what is dubbed as the Davis Cup Finals.

Top seeds 2018 runner-up France top-bills Group A and they are joined by Serbia and Japan. Defending champion Croatia is in Group B along with Russia and five-time winner Spain. Third-seeded Argentina leads Group C and they are bracketed with Germany and Chile.

Group D features three-time runner-up Belgium, 28-time champions Australia and Colombia. Meanwhile, 2015 winners Great Britain is joined by Kazakhstan and the Netherlands in Group E. The final group is Group F which is composed of the United States, Italy and Canada.

The tournament will run from November 18-24, 2019 at the Caja Magica in Madrid, Spain and will be played indoors on a hard indoor surface. The Group matches are set to take place in the first four days of the event. The Top six teams and the two best second-placed teams, based on the percentage of sets won, will advance to the next round. The first quarterfinals match will be played on November 21, 2019, and the rest of the quarterfinals matches will be played on November 22, 2019. Semi-finals matches are booked for November 23rd while the finals will take place on November 24, 2019.

Here are the odds to win the 2019 Davis Cup. Odds were taken from Titanbet as of 6/21/19:

Player Odds
Spain +300
Croatia +400
France +450
USA +500
Australia +600
Russia +900
Argentina +900
Germany +1000
Serbia +1200
Great Britain +1600
Canada +2000
Italy +2500
Belgium +4000
Japan +6000
Chile +6500
Netherlands +8000
Colombia +10000
Kazakhstan +10000

“Tennis" Who Are The Favorites?

Spain is the top tennis betting favorite to win the 2019 Davis Cup. The Spaniards are the host of this year’s competition and since the turn of the century, they have won five times, coming out victorious in 2000, 2004, 2008, 2009 and 2011. Last year, they made their first appearance in the semifinals since 2012 but they lost to France 2-3.

Croatia is the defending Davis Cup champion. The win was their second Davis Cup triumph after they became the first unseeded team to win the tournament in 2005. Last year Borna Coric and Marin Cilic posted straight sets win over Jeremy Chardy and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga to give Croatia a quick 2-0 lead. France stayed alive by winning the doubles match but Cilic knocked off Lucas Pouille to give Croatia the title.

France is the top seed in the 2019 Davis Cup Finals and they were runners-up to Croatia last year. The Frenchmen won the title in 2017, their 10th overall in the Davis Cup but could not replicate the achievement last year. They fell behind 0-2 in the opening day of the Finals last year but stayed alive after Nicolas Mahut and Pierre-Hugues Herbert salvaged the doubles match. However, 2017 title-winning hero Lucas Pouille lost to Cilic in match 4 as Croatia dethroned Yannick Noah’s boys.

The United States won the inaugural Davis Cup in 1900 and have the most wins in this tournament at 32. They also hold the record for most consecutive wins without a defeat at 17 straight wins from 1968 to 1973. But the Americans haven’t won this tournament since 2007 and last year, they fell to Croatia in a hard-fought semifinals series. Team USA is seeded sixth in the tournament this year.

Australia is among the 6 seeds this year but the 28-time champions are among the betting favorites to win the 2019 Davis Cup. The Aussies ended three consecutive years of Davis Cup defeat by trouncing Bosnia and Herzegovina 4-0 in the Qualifier tie held in Adelaide to book their entry in the inaugural 2019 Davis Cup Finals.

“Tennis" Who Wins?

The Davis Cup is still a long five months away and with the best tennis players from each country competing in the tour or elsewhere, there are still a lot of things that can happen. Sure, we know which players represented their teams last year but with the date still, too far away, it’s really hard to tell which teams are going to make it to the finals, at least.

Among the top five betting favorites, I can say that Croatia and France look really legit of making at least the quarterfinals here. Spain would be the third favorite for me, especially with the tournament being played in Madrid. I’m not sure if the United States can make a run to the finals and I’m not sure why Australia is ranked this high in the odds board. Based on the current list, I think Germany with Alexander Zverev and Jan-Lennard Struff leading the way has good betting value. Check back with us when the tournament is nearing as we update the odds and pick our winner for this tournament.

Place Your Bet Here

Related Articles
Leave Your Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *